

#### Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University <u>GUWAHATI – 781022</u>

# PROCEEDINGS OF THE 10<sup>th</sup> MEETING OF THE RESEARCH COUNCIL, HELD ON 13.02.2024

#### Members Present:

1.	Vice Chancellor		Chairperson
2.	Prof N.N. Sarma, Director, MDSoM		Member
3.	Prof. Pranjit Bora, Director, PNGBSoH		Member
4.	Prof. Joydeep Barua, Director, SKBSoSS		Member
5.	Prof. Pranab Saikia, Director (i/c), IMSoE		Member
6.	Prof. Prasenjit Das, Director (i/c), BHSoMC		Member
7.	Dr. Ridip Dev Choudhury, Director (i/c), HCBSoST,GPDSoIVS		Member
8.	Dr. Gobinda Deka, Associate Professor in Commerce		Member
9.	Dr. Parag Dutta, Associate Professor in Economics		Member
10. Dean (Academic) i/c		Member Secretary	

The Hon'ble Vice Chancellor and the Chairman of the Research Council extended a warm welcome to all the members present. The Chairman called the 10<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Research Council to be in order and requested Dean (Academic) i/c to proceed with agenda items for consideration.

## Item No. 1: Confirmation of the Proceedings of 9th Meeting of the Research Council.

The copy of the Proceedings of the 9<sup>th</sup> Meeting of Research Council is enclosed as <u>Annexure I</u> for confirmation.

Resolution No. RC/10/1/2024: Resolved that the Proceedings of the 9<sup>th</sup> Meeting of Research Council be approved.

Rejenter P- M2

Der.

Item No. 2: To Appraise the Action Taken Report on the decisions of the 9<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Research Council.

The action taken report on the decision of the 9<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Research Council is enclosed as *Annexure II*.

Resolution No. RC/10/2/2024: The Action Taken Report of the 9<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Research Council be noted.

Item No. 3: Approval of the Provisional Registration of Ph.D. Scholars.

**Discussion:** The Research Advisory Committee (RAC) based on the presentation and the external examiners' reports of the concerned PhD scholars have submitted the topics for provisional registration of the scholars of 2021-2022 batch. The topics of the scholars are placed for approval for provisional registration in the PhD programme which are enclosed as *Annexure III.* After thorough discussion, the meeting resolved as follows:

Resolution No. RC/10/3/2024: Resolved that the list of topics for PhD provisional registration be approved.

Item No. 4: Allotment of supervisors for the Scholars of (Journalism and Mass Communication) PhD Programme, 2022.

**Discussion:** The Research Council discussed the matter in detail along with the list regarding allotment of supervisors for the scholars of (Journalism and Mass Communication) PhD, 2022 batch submitted by Director i/c of the concerned school. After threadbare discussion, the meeting for the interest of the scholars and as per provisions of the PhD Regulations of the University resolved as follows:

Resolution No. RC/10/4/2024: Resolved that the list of allotment of PhD supervisor for the scholars of Journalism and Mass Communication for Ph.D. 2022 batch be approved subject to the completion of the Course Work.

Rajan P. Mz

Da ,

Item No. 5: Regarding evaluation process of the existing M. Phil Dissertation and Ph.D. Thesis.

**Discussion:** The Research Council discussed about the existing evaluation process of the Dissertation of the already admitted MPhil scholars and PhD Thesis. At present, the entire evaluation process of the MPhil Dissertation and PhD thesis are done by Office of the Dean Academic. However, as the matter is concerned with confidential works in different stages of evaluation process till declaration of the results, so the issue is placed for discussion and appropriate direction in this regard. After thorough discussion about various aspects of evaluation and the provisions of the KKHSOU Statute, the meeting resolved as follows:

Resolution No. RC/10/5/2024: Resolved that the entire process of evaluation of Dissertation and PhD Thesis be done through the Office of the Controller of Examinations. However, the Office of the Dean Academic shall maintain all records of the scholars starting from admission to the PhD Programme till Pre-Submission Seminar.

Item No. 6: To appraise the withdrawal of Ms. Purabi Choudhury from MPhil programme.

**Discussion:** Ms. Purabi Choudhury, MPhil Scholar, 2021 batch, Discipline of Computer Science under the supervision of Dr. Nabankur Pathak had submitted an application requesting withdrawal from the MPhil programme due to her health related issues. Her withdrawal application was briefed in the meeting and resolved as follows:

*Resolution No. RC/10/6/2024:* Resolved that the withdrawal application of Ms. Purabi Choudhury, Discipline of Computer Science from the MPhil Programme be ratified.

Item No. 7: Any Other Matters

### 1. To recommend the award of Ph.D. Degree

**Discussion:** The list of PhD awardees from different Disciplines was placed for recommendation to the Academic Council along with the list of MPhil scholars who had completed their course earlier. The meeting after discussion resolved as follows.

*Resolution No. RC/10/7.1/2024:* The list of PhD and MPhil Awardees be recommended. It was also resolved that the scholars whose viva-voce examination completes on or

Ronjandand. M2

ARE

before 25<sup>th</sup> February, 2024 be recommended for conferring the degree in the ensuing 6<sup>th</sup> Convocation.

2. Regarding Allotment of Co-Supervisor to Ms. Reetu Gogoi, Ph.D. Scholar, 2018 batch.

**Discussion:** Ms. Reetu Gogoi, a PhD scholar of 2018 batch in the Discipline of Assamese under the supervision of Dr. Neeva Rani Phukan, Associate Professor in Assamese had applied for a co-guide from the same Discipline i.e. Dr. Mrinal Jyoti Goswami, Assistant Professor in Assamese, KKHSOU. The RC discussed the matter in depth in view of the UGC Notification dated 7<sup>th</sup> November, 2022 and also various implications of administering a system of allotting co-supervisors. After the introduction of the UGC, 2022 Regulations, the University has received only one application in respect of having a co-supervisor. In this regard, the RC resolved to allot Dr. Mrinal Mrinal Jyoti Goswami as co-supervisor in view of his expertise in the particular area. The RC also resolves to have a set of guidelines for allocating co-supervisor.

After thorough discussion about the matter, the meeting resolved as follows:

Resolution No. RC/10/7.2/2024: The matter regarding allotment of a Co-Supervisor to Ms. Reetu Gogoi be approved and at the same time a set of guidelines be prepared for allocating co-supervisor in future.

As there was no other matter for discussion, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks from and to the chair.

(Rajendra Prasad Das)

Vice Chancellor & Chairperson, RC Vice-Chancellor K.K.H.S.O.U. Guwahali

(Bipul Das)

Member Secretary, RC

Dean (Academic) //c Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University